Andy Lopez Memorial Award and Scholarship

for Outstanding Allied Health Professional of the Year in TB Control

Previous Recipients, County/Jurisdiction:

2018 Anna Pritchard – Imperial
2017 Doualy Lo, Van Dang, Cindy Ong                            San Joaquin
2016 Lauren Linde – Los Angeles
2015 Carmen Maria Lopez – San Joaquin
2014 Candy Box – San Francisco
2013 Antonio Gomes – Santa Barbara
2012 Rosalia Schollar – Napa
2011 Mark Condit – Contra Costa
2010 Araceli P. Robles – Ventura
2009 Abe Sanchez – Orange
2008 Linh Bui – Orange
2007 Irene Lerma – Riverside
2006 Neng Yang – Sonoma
2005 Maria Pasillas – Stanislaus
2004 Graciela Espinoza – Long Beach
2003 Houmpheng Banouvong – San Francisco
2002 Lilly Liang – Santa Clara
2001 Guadalupe Sanchez – Imperial
2000 Charles L. Primous – Contra Costa

2019 Recipient
Claire Torres, MPH, CHES
Los Angeles County

Andy Lopez had a distinguished public health career in California for over 20 years. For over 12 years he worked directly with many local TB programs throughout the state. He had many years of field experience and extensive knowledge of local TB program issues. His untimely passing on Father’s Day 1999 was felt deeply within the TB Control community. 

To honor Andy’s memory, recognize the contributions of Allied Health Professionals (AHPs) to TB prevention and care activities in California, and support ongoing training and education of AHPs, the Andy Lopez Memorial Award and Scholarship will be awarded each year to one outstanding AHP working in TB control in California.   

All Allied Health Professionals (Public Health Advisors, Disease Intervention Specialists, Communicable Disease Investigators/Specialists, Community Health Outreach Workers, Epidemiologists, Social Workers, etc.) are eligible. Nominations can be submitted year round.  They are reviewed by the Nurses and Allied Health Professionals Forum volunteer leadership. Award recipients receive registration, travel and hotel support to attend conference and receive their award. 

2020 Andy Lopez Memorial Award and Scholarship for Outstanding Allied Health Professional of the Year in TB Control Nomination Form Deadline March 6.