Brenda Ashkar "We Do What It Takes" Award

2018 Rocio Agraz-Lara, MSN, RN, PHN
2017 Karen White, SPHN
2016 Wendy Malone, BSN, RN, PHN
2016 Jeanne Soukup, RN
2015 Terry Somers, Sr. PHN, MPH
2014 Paige Batson, PHN, RN
2013 Lisa True, RN, MSN
2012 Karen Redwine
2011 Pam Costamangna
2010 Brenda Ashkar, RN

The Brenda  Ashkar Award is  presented each year to a  Registered Nurse working in Tuberculosis Control in  California, who exemplifies the values of leadership, flexibility, creativity and “doing what it  takes” to improve the health of  those in the community he or she serves. 

All Registered Nurses, with 10 years experience, who work to control TB in California are eligible.  This award gives local health jurisdictions and the CTCA an opportunity to recognize the excellence of this Registered Nurse for his or her hard work and dedication to TB control.

This award is given annually to honor the exemplary 37-year Registered Nursing Career of Brenda Ashkar and her outstanding contributions to TB care and prevention. Presented to a Registered Nurse working in a Tuberculosis Program in California, this award celebrates the values of leadership, flexibility, creativity and “doing whatever it takes” to improve the health of their community. All Registered Nurses, with at least 10 years experience in a TB Program are eligible.

Nominations can be submitted year round. The 2020 Brenda Ashkar “We Do What It Takes” Award Nomination Form is due March 6.

Nidia Garcia, RN, PHN

2019 recipient, middle
(2018, Rocio, right)